The beautiful region in central Italy impresses with seven UNESCO world cultural heritage sites.

UNESCO World Heritages

The beautiful region in central Italy impresses with seven UNESCO world cultural heritage sites:

  • The historical centre of Florence
  • Piazza del Duomo in Pisa with the Leaning Tower
  • The old town of San Gimigniano with its family towers
  • The Medici Villas and Gardens
  • The old town of Siena in Gothic style
  • The historical centre of Pienza in Renaissance style
  • The Val d’Orcia with its beautiful landscape

The historical centre of Florence

The historic old town of Florence has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1982. Its magnificent buildings house a rich history of art and culture and the cathedrals, palaces and museums, such as the world-famous Uffizi Gallery, are only a few minutes’ walk apart. Ideal to learn a lot about its history and culture! Countless priceless Renaissance treasures such as works by Michelangelo, Botticelli and Da Vinci are waiting to be explored!

The “Piazza die Miracoli” in Pisa with its Leaning Tower

Since 1987, the outstanding ensemble has been listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site on the beautiful “Place of Wonders” in Pisa. The three monuments of the 11th-14th century square are the cathedral, the baptistery and of course the main attraction, the Leaning Tower.

The “Campanile”, the Leaning Tower, with its fine white marble arches, is probably the most photogenic building on the square. And it offers the most beautiful view of the “Piazza”. Shortly after the foundation stone was laid in 1170, the bell tower of the cathedral began to tilt due to the loamy mire. Lead trains were used to try to control the inclination of the tower, but this was not successful. And even today the landmark has a southeast inclination of about 4 degrees and looks as if it will fall over at any moment. But it can still be climbed!

The old town of San Gimignano with its family towers

The historical centre of the small town was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1990 due to its well-preserved medieval architecture, which has been preserved for generations. Over 70 gender towers were built by the ruling families to symbolize their power. In the First and Second World Wars a large part was destroyed and only 14 remained.

The dominating towers give the small town a unique character and take its visitors back to the Middle Ages. San Gimignano is therefore also called “Manhattan of the Middle Ages” or “Manhattan of Tuscany”!

The Medici Villas and Gardens

The two gardens and the luxurious villas, 12 of which are located near Florence and Lucca, were only declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2013. 

The villas and gardens were built between the 15th and 17th centuries in harmony with the landscape and still stand for comfort and beauty. The Medici were the ruling aristocratic family in the Renaissance period. The award is intended to acknowledge their influence on European culture and their promotion and participation in artistic and cultural progress in Italy.

UNESCO-listed gardens and villas include: In Florence, the Boboli and Pratolino Gardens, the Careggi, La Petraia, Cerreto Guidi, Castello and Poggio Imperiale villas; the Belcanto villas in Fiesole, Poggio in Caiano (Prato province), La Magia in Quarrata (Pistoia province), Artimino in Carmignano (Prato province), Cafaggiolo in Barberino di Mugello and Palazzo Seravezza in Lucca.

The old town of Siena in Gothic style

The historical centre of Siena was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1995. It is an outstanding example of Gothic architecture and construction and reflects the development of art and architecture in Italy. For many it is even considered the most beautiful city of Tuscany, because it has preserved its medieval character in a wonderful way! One of the most famous buildings is the “Piazza del Campo”, the square where the famous Palio of Siena takes place twice a year, putting the whole city in a state of emergency.

The historical centre of Pienza in Renaissance style

The old town of Pienza was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1996. The redevelopment of Pienza in the 15th century was decided, promoted and financed by Pope Pius II and made the city an outstanding example of a planned “ideal city”. Especially around” Piazza Pio II”, the magnificent buildings such as the Cathedral, Palazzo Piccolomini and Palazzo Borgia shine in the beauty and luxury of the Renaissance. The geometric perspectives, the arrangement of the cathedral and palazzo and the accurate use of the open space in the medieval centre of the village emphasise the architectural genius of this era.

The beautiful landscape of the Val d’Orcia

The historic cultural landscape of the Orcia Valley extends southeast of Siena and is largely undeveloped. It has been carefully cultivated and corresponds both functionally and aesthetically to the ideals of the Renaissance. It was painted repeatedly by the Renaissance artists of the “Sienese School”. Only large farmhouses and small villages are scattered across the hilly landscape – so it still offers modern artists and photographers the opportunity to capture the same fairy-tale scenery as the great Renaissance artists of the time.

Booking and further information

Discover the UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Tuscany on a tailor-made group tour, team event or within an individual supporting program of your corporate event! We will be glad to submit you an offer for your trip to the beautiful Central Italian region. Please feel free to contact us via our contact form, email or by phone +49 611 945879-42!

Tuscany is the most popular region.

Contact us now for your

Event of a lifetime

Contact us for a free consultation and we will look together to see what extraordinary experience we can organize for you and your guests! We look forward to you!