The provinces of Liguria and their capitals

The northern Italian region of Liguria is divided into the provinces of Imperia, Savona, Genoa and La Spezia. The narrow coastal strip is traditionally divided into the "Riviera di Levante" in the east and the "Riviera di Ponente" in the west. The regional capital Genoa lies in the middle of the two coastal regions.

Ligurian Provinces and Their Capitals

The provinces of Imperia and Savona

The province of Imperia stretches along the Riviera di Ponente in western Liguria from the French-Italian border at Monaco to the neighbouring province of Savona. The Roman Road Via Aurelia, which connects the Italian capital Rome in the Lazio region with the French town of Arles, runs through it. The coastal section of the province of Imperia is also known as the Riviera of Flowers, Riviera dei Fiori. In addition to the provincial capital of the same name, Imperia delights with lively harbour towns such as San Remo, Diano Marina, Dolceacqua and Pigna in the hinterland. Colourful vineyards, olive trees and the scent of Mediterranean plants dominate the picturesque landscape. The lush green foothills of the Maritime Alps and the Ligurian Apennines partly reach the coast and contribute to the year-round mild Mediterranean climate.
The neighbouring province of Savona stretches over 1,550 km from Varazze to Andorra. Endless sandy beaches alternate with steep mountain foothills and small bays. Off the coast are the two islands of Bergeggi and Gallinara, which are protected nature reserves. More than half of the province is covered with forests dotted with small medieval villages. Particularly worth seeing are the picturesque coastal towns of Alassio with its famous little wall “Il Muretto”, Loano with its beautiful fountain, Pietra Ligure with the “Piazza San Nicolò” and Finale Ligure with its palm-lined promenade. The narrow, winding alleys called the “carruggi” are characteristic of the towns.

The Metropolitan City of Genoa and the Province of La Spezia

Genoa is the provincial capital of the province of the same name and divides Liguria into the western Ponente coast and the eastern Levante coast. Italians affectionately call it “La Superba” (The Proud) and it was the European Capital of Culture in 2004. Genoa’s old town in particular offers many art and cultural treasures, historical museums and famous palaces. In addition, the towns of Recco, Rapallo, Santa Margherita Ligure, Lavagna, Chiavari and Sestri Levante are among the most beautiful in the province. In terms of landscape, the province of Genoa offers pure variety! Rugged rocky coasts change into gentle hills with olive trees and vineyards to finally merge into the mountain worlds of the Alps and the Apennines.
The province of La Spezia is in the east of the Liguria region and borders the Tuscany region. The provincial capital La Spezia is the second largest municipality in the region after the regional capital Genoa and was designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2004. La Spezia is mainly known as a port for many cruise ships and a starting point for excursions to the UNESCO World Heritage Site Cinque Terre. From the town’s mountain Monte Parodi, a paradisiacal hiking trail leads to the UNESCO World Heritage Site National Park. Monte Parodi is also the starting point for the Ligurian high trail where you can hike and trek.

Liguria - between the mountains
and the sea

Contact us now for your

Event of a lifetime

Contact us for a free consultation and we will look together to see what extraordinary experience we can organize for you and your guests! We look forward to you!